Aside

Because I’m twentysomething.

Because I’m twentysomething.

When I was thirteen, I couldn’t wait to be eighteen.  And when I was sixteen, I planned to be married by age twenty-six & have two kids by thirty. I’ll always smile to myself when I think about how time changes things.

A funny thing happens about the time you turn twenty-five. People start asking about marriage and kids and houses. You begin to worry about savings, retirement, and health insurance.  You start spending your money on plates, pots, new tyres, right? And sometimes you start to compare your 25 years with everyone else’s. You wonder if you’re on the right track, if you’re falling behind, you start going to your friends’ weddings and buying baby gifts for second birthdays. Suddenly you realize you’re at the exact age that seemed so far away just five years ago.

The older I’ve gotten, the more aware I’ve become of how quick these years pass and the pressure to fit the mould of all of the rest of the twentyfivers. How easy is it to become controlled by our age and the expectation of what that signifies? Well I say forget the expectation, forget the moulds. Live your life the way you want to, rather than the way you think you are expected to. Especially if that means taking a big jump, even if it feels like a free fall.  Maybe quit your job and go back to school if that feels right, get married or don’t, chop off your hair,  change your mind,  travel, end a relationship that no longer serves you, become a different or better person, maybe move away or move back home.

While you’re in your twenties, I hope you buy a plane ticket to anywhere in the world, I hope you get lost wandering all of the streets, meet new people, have interesting conversations over warm cups of tea, drink out of mason jars while dancing barefoot in the grass, spend time with those who matter. Set your goals and change them, say goodbye to all of the things that have held you back or no longer serve purpose in your life and vow to keep moving forward. Experience everything you can. My biggest fear is looking back on my life when I’m 80 and thinking ‘shoulda, coulda but didn’t’.

I hope you aren’t held back because of a number and that you don’t rush into things because it feels like time is slipping by. Do what’s right for you.  Your age is your age, but more importantly, your life is your life, don’t change your journey so that it matches someone elses. We need to walk different paths so the whole world can be explored.

4 thoughts on “Because I’m twentysomething.

Leave a Reply

